Our Society

About the Society


The Society’s office bearers for 2018/2019 are as follows:

President:  Mr Randal Binnie
Vice President: Mr Philip Roberts
Secretary/Treasurer:  Mr James Madden

Committee Members:
Mr Paul Martinez (Immediate Past President)
Mr Clive Speakman
Mr Christopher Saines
Mr Trevor Cowling

The objectives of our Society are:

  • To support and promote the character, status and interests of Notaries in Queensland.
  • To promote honourable practice, to repress malpractice and to settle disputed points of practice.
  • To decide all questions of professional usage or courtesy between or amongst Notaries.
  • To consider all questions affecting the interests of Notaries.
  • To engage in the reform of the law relevant to the practice of Notaries.
  • To consider all future applications of persons applying to the Court of Faculties in London for appointments as Notaries and to support or oppose these applications.
  • To consider what is an appropriate number of Notaries for Brisbane, Rockhampton, and Townsville and any other cities, towns or districts in Queensland.
  • To acquire by purchase, donation or otherwise a library and to maintain the library.
  • To provide rooms or other facilities for the holding of meetings of the Society or other matters.
  • To encourage the study of the law, and to provide all information on subjects important to the practice of Notaries.
  • To make, alter or repeal rules for the good government of the Society.
  • To recommend the fees to be charged by Notaries.
  • To do all other things necessary for the attainment of the above objects.


View our timeline